Where it all started

20 12 2009

Globeracers was born out of my imagination as I envisioned myself running through the world’s most remote interiors and rugged landscapes. It’s impossible to describe the energy that runs through my veins every time I hit the trails or take my cycle out for a grueling ride. Only those who do such extreme activities can understand the satisfaction one feels after those long runs and rides. “Race the world,” I tell myself, on foot and on wheels, one mile at a time.

With a good team, and planning, we ran the Himalayas on the West Bengal side, crisscrossing India, Nepal border in May 2009, starting at Manebhanjan, climbing to Sundakphu, and back in 3 days. We endured cramps (a must for all endurance racers 🙂 ), hail storms, freezing temps, our own limitations brought on by earlier injuries, and continued abuse of our own energy resources.

Every step was worth once we got up to the peaks, where we were mesmerized by Kanchanjunga, and were left speechless by next morning’s sunrise. Every one of the runners has a story to tell, a reason to linger on, and a penchant for more suffering! A very weird bunch of folks I thought to myself, and then, oops I thought, I am one of them 🙂

As we ran down the mountains, navigating hair pins bends at high speed, chased by clouds, befriending (I know it is a very strange word to use, but trust me, that is how it felt) butterflies who flew with us very pointedly while we ran alone separated from each other by a pace set for ourselves, very definitively it seemed as though life made sense, world meant something, and destination very clear.

I was the first to come down the mountains, and reach the base camp. The family we stayed with has seen one too many crazies like us, and were prepared to serve us hot food, and treat us to anything we wished for at the moment. I took advantage of the time to galvanize every one to get some hot water (we hadn’t had a decent wash since we started the climb three days ago), and cook up a filling meal. As each of them came down, bliss was written all over their faces. A contentment only a fellow crazie (words coined out of craziness I suppose 🙂 ) can understand.

I was exhausted from organizing, and participating in the run. That was when I decided I would do one of the two, organize or participate. I couldn’t sit around after a brutal climb, or enduring a hail storm. My team’s safety, recovery, and comfort were paramount. Some of them fell ill half way through the descent, and accommodating every one’s wishes was a decision I had to cope with. While my muscles ached, and complained, I would run up and down ensuring all were safe, and ready for the next day. I will run my heart out when someone else is responsible for me I told myself right then and there !!! Plenty of races like my good friend Chris’ Badwater I consoled myself 🙂

Here I am in Pokaran today, after 5 months of prep, with 4 more days to go before Thar Desert Run is flagged off. Two more days before everyone starts arriving. Am I psyched? Oh yeah.Watch this space for my crazies’ stories, each day as fun begins to roll in 🙂


Actions

Information

Leave a comment